Story of a Cubs fan

A lot of people ask why I like the Cubs, how I can root for a team that just can’t get it together. A lot of people ask if I believe in the curse or if I am just a loser who relates well with other losers. Cubs fans, believe it or not, are not created equal. Some Cubs fans were born into a family where their fathers or uncles or brothers or someone influenced them from birth, some like the teams logo or the field where they play. The old story has always gone that it doesn’t really matter if the Cubs win or lose as long as you have a great day in the sun at Wrigley. Later it was changed to " as long as Sammy hits one out it was a good day". Now we are starting to see boo birds all over Wrigley and the old school fans are ashamed of it. The reason for this is that people, fans, really want to see the Cubs win. While I don’t agree with booing them every chance you get, I certainly understand it. I grew up in a single parent home with a mother who had to work a whole lot of hours and didn’t have a lot of time to be around. The Chicago Cubs were the one constant I always had, and while it’s true they let me down an awful lot, they were always there. The Cubs mean everything to me and it’s difficult for a lot of people to understand. When I was 10 years old I was taken to a game at Wrigley in August 1987, it was my first time in a ballpark and we sat in right field. Andre Dawson hit three homeruns against the Phillies that day and I was hooked. He still is my all time favorite. I am only 28 now and I actually worry that I will die before the Cubs win the series, how sad is that? Anyway, to answer the questions from above, I am a Cubs fan because the Cubs are family. I can root for the Cubs because the Cubs, above all else, offer hope. Hope that if you work hard enough, maybe that pot of gold really is just around the corner. I do not believe in the curse of the billy goat, I do however believe in runs of bad luck, no matter how long that bad luck may last. Sometimes the ball just doesn’t bounce our way. The Cubs will have their day, I just hope I’m around to see it.

11 comments

  1. mlblogosphere@yahoo.com

    Nice first post and welcome to the MLBlogosphere! We’ll add you to the Rookies and to the Browse by Teams area here (which shows you other Cub bloggers). Feel free to visit the community blog below and let me know any time you ever have questions/comments about how this place works. Happy blogging!

    Mark/MLB.com

    http://mlblogs.mlblogs.com

  2. ny_yankeesfan81@yahoo.com

    Good post. Keep the good stuff coming, I got to read something while I’m at work. Just so we all know, Where do you stand on the whole Dusty Baker thing? Should he stay? Should he go? Just so we all know

  3. robmize@comcast.net

    Don’t worry – they’ll win it all before you die – the best team always wins in baseball – when they’re the best, they’ll win. You’ll wonder why you ever worried.

  4. my4-e@rcn.com

    I just heard Dave Kaplan, on WGN, say Dusty is going to finish out the season. That is good news, now let’s play ball. Go Cubbies

  5. mc_and_mc@hotmail.com

    Dusty was a great manager, if you give him a bunch of veterans he’s okay. He can nothandle the young kids. Also he seems to have forgotten some of the basics of baseball. A recent game, bottom of the ninth, down by one, runner on third with no one out. The next three batters grounded out to the third base side. Whatever happened to the safety squeeze? Another problem the Cubs have is their inconsistant pitching. Maddux is gone, finally. Let’s buy out the heavy salaries of Woods and Prior, get the young kids they are raving about in the minors, and start over. A good choice for manager would be Bob Brenley.

  6. gocubs14@hotmail.com

    Good comments. My predictions are that Kerry Wood will be released but Mark Prior will be kept because he has another year to go on his contract. Phil Nevin will go. Freddy Bynum will go. Ryan Dempster will go. Glendon Rusch will go. Mabry could be signed as a backup to D Lee and give the Cubs a left handed bat off the bench. If the Cubs are unable to resign Juan Pierre, then they can play Angel Pagan. After watching Felix Pie play for Iowa over the course of 9 games, I think he will need another year before he’s ready. The guy has an arm and that will be welcome in our outfield.

  7. clothndsr@yahoo.com

    my name is mark hood i have been a cubs fan all my life i was a cubs fan in my mothers stomach she died a die hard cub fan and when we win the world series her ashes will remain at wrigley ive never seen a live game im coming for the first time in 07

  8. steve.pfeifer@sbcglobal.net

    I’m an old school fan and am embarrassed by it. I think most of those who boo don’t understand baseball or never played. Booing doesn’t help the players. Why kick someone when they are down. I would gladly take their tickets.

  9. timmyk78@yahoo.com

    I was born and raised on the south side. thank god my grandma made me a cubs fan.being a cubs fan isnt about wrigley, the bleachers, hot broads,etc…. ITS ABOUT HAVING FAITH IN YOUR TEAM AND STICKING WITH THEM REGARDLESS. not being catholic on the southside i always get asked what denomination….IM A CUBS FAN, THATS A BIGGER LEAP OF FAITH THAN ANY RELIGION

Leave a Reply

